Dirrrty South. . . . Mekong Style


Change in plans
April 12, 2009, 5:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yo. I’m in Tra Vinh for one more year. The original plan of striking out on my own to HCMC has been postponed for a year.

Why stay? I spent the first few months in Tra Vinh with all this angst of transitioning to a new country, a new environment, teaching, small town life, etc. In the new year, I started spending my time always scouring job sites, working on my resume, looking up insurance, how to get visas, etc. Essentially once I got over my getting used to Tra Vinh drama, I already had one foot out the door. I wouldn’t really get as an in-depth experience of Tra Vinh.

Also, my Vietnamese is still hella busted. The schedule and lack of transition drama will give me time and energy to focus. Working full time at a job requiring only English (which would be my ideal situation), wouldn’t leave that much opportunity. It’s definitely possible if I really try and am motivated….but at this age I’m starting to accept how I really am and how I really work and what my weaknesses are…knowing myself, I’d be too distracted. Simply put, I’d be pretty frickin’ depressed if this is as good as my Vietnamese is going to ever be.

How long will I be in VN? I don’t know….but it’s looking like maybe two more years (three total, yikes!!!), but we’ll see in the future. I might pack my bags and go home early, or…I don’t know!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment